Topic: Advice on Hwarang weight?

Hi everyone. My name is Peter and I am new to this world of Korean archery. Let me start by saying it's wonderful to read all of your involved and engaged comments. There's a lot of love in this forum. Love and respect for a centuries old, dignified and cultured tradition. I want to contribute in my modest capacity.

Thumbs up

Re: Advice on Hwarang weight?

I currently own a 50#@28 Kaya Khan and shoot long distance (up to 145 meters) at a traditional target with 600 grain bamboo arrows. I must say it's liberating to shoot completely instinctively. Coming from a background of modern recurve with stabilisers and sights, I simply breathe and follow form. The air rushes into my lungs and out. Life is wonderful.
Usually I fail to hit the target but sometimes I come close.

Thumbs up

Now, I would like to buy a bamboo core traditional Korean bow. Which draw weight should I choose? I never shot thumb ring but want to get into that. My intention is to draw to 33" (scapulae). Is it very different to use a thumb ring, because you seem to involve the back muscles a lot more?
At the moment I'm considering buying a 56# @ 31". That seems to make about 65 pounds at 33 inches? I'm 1m83 (6 foot) tall and average strength. Thank you for reading. Greetings from Norway.

Thumbs up

4 (edited by Pedro C 2015-08-27 04:54:05)

Since you've got some experience with archery, I _guess_ a heavier bow wouldn't be much of a problem, except maybe when learning thumb draw. Drawing with a thumb ring does feel different. It didn't take me too long to learn. I just looked at instructional videos and pictures of thumb draw and started just drawing partially. Then it wasn't too hard to draw my 50# bow, and I was (and still am) a total noob.