Topic: Complete Newbie

Hi Guys,  I've never shot a bow before in my life and I'm thinking of picking it up for hunting and want to go the traditional route.  I've read through this forum as well as a few others. I've seen a lot of praise of the Kaya bows for the bang for the buck, but some of the sites are a bit harsh on it for beginner use.  My question is, is this because the Korean bows are so different, i.e. lack of shelf, thumb ring draw, or is it accurate for a beginner to look into a different style of bow such as a Samick if they're new to archery?

Thumbs up

Re: Complete Newbie

You can't go wrong with a Korean bow.  I found them much easier to use then other western style bows.  The thumb release was a revelation once I started shooting that way.  I feel much more connected with the Korean bow.  It will take allot of practice but you will be happy you went with a Korean or Chinese bow.  The Korean bows are small and powerful, which make them great for the bush.  Kaya is a good starting bow in my opinion.

Thumbs up

I didn't want to answer because I don't hunt, but because only morton applied I would like to add that you must be willing to loose one or two seasons before you can learn to shoot it accurately if you want to try the Korean style. This bows reach their full potential only with Korean style shooting. I used to shoot my SKB for years before with Mediterranean and the bow felt weak. Never the less I believe Korean bows are the best there can be.

Thumbs up

4 (edited by Pedro C 2015-10-25 05:07:39)