Topic: question about right arrow length and shaft/arrow suppliers on ebay

As a total beginner I would like to ask a couple of questions and hopefully someone can help:

When I ordered my Korean bow I did order also a dozen arrows with it. I had calculated my drawlength by measuring from one tip of my middlefinger to the other while holding my arms stretched out and apart and then dividing it by 2.5, which resulted in a drawlength of 28 inches for me.

The archery store recommended that I buy 28.5 inch long arrows, which I did. But I am not sure if it is really the right length for me and if the method I used is right for Korean traditional archery. If anyone could advice me that would be really great.

The other thing is, that once I know for sure what the right arrowlength/drawlength for me is, I do want to buy or make my own bamboo arrows. I've seen on ebay offers of people selling finished bamboo arrows (like this one: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/6x-Trad-ARRO … 2321fbc612) as-well as bamboo shafts (like this one: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/25pcs-Hexsha … 589587f4a0).

But I am a little cautious with ebay purchases and wanted to see if anyone had experience with buying shafts or complete arrows from ebay and if it is a safe option. And maybe you can recommend me a good quality seller.

Thumbs up

Re: question about right arrow length and shaft/arrow suppliers on ebay

It really depends upon if you are going to shoot using fingers or a thumb ring.  If fingers, the "standard" length is 28", but it's about 3" more (31") if you plan to use a thumb ring.  The measurement is usually made by stretching out your bow hand in a fist and measuring from the far outside of the fist to either your chin (fingers) or +3" (thumb ring).    The arrow is usually about an inch longer than the draw length.

Regarding bamboo arrows, be careful of those sold at a cheap price; you truly get what you pay for.

Thumbs up

3 (edited by sissara 2012-09-12 04:09:21)