1 (edited by Mellowfellow 2013-11-02 19:48:05)

Topic: Ordering a Kaya kahn and starter kit advice

Hello everyone.

I'm interested in buying a kaya kahn for target shooting and fun hobby but I'm a total traditional recurve newbie.

I'm in need of some advice though. I want one which is about 45# (ive just read this is a good medium weight, should I go lighter in this case ?) and my draw length is 28,3" (measured from open extended arms index finger too index finger at about 70"/2.5 from this article http://www.huntersfriend.com/bow_sizing … uide.html)
This could already be a wrong start since this is not a compound but a traditional recurve ?

Ive read that in some cases the bow need's a little work to get it 100% tip top.. Things like smoothing the bow tips, adding padding where the strings "rest" on the tips on the back, and adding a patch of leather for the arrow rest.
Is this the standard ? Which glue should one use on this beauty ?

For arrows could I use lightspeed 500 carbon arrows ? Or is this the wrong move and should I get cheaper arrows, wood arrows, better arrows ? I'm ordering from ArcheryTorgue and they have a selection of bamboo and Carbon Pro carbon arrows. Can anyone recommend their arrow setups for target shooting ? Do the arrows need to be longer than normal ?

Then I guess lastly there is the release, does one use a tab or glove ?

O and do I use a stringer to get the string on or not ?

I realise I'm really going ape with all my questions,  tongue please forgive me! I value your sensible advice

MF

Thumbs up

Re: Ordering a Kaya kahn and starter kit advice

Welcome!

For people who are of at least average strength, 45# is a good draw weight to at least start with; you probably wouldn't have much trouble with the Khan at that draw weight.  Adding things to the bow would probably be a bit more of personal preference, although the Khan is a fairly sparse bow, so they are good ideas for tweaking it.