1 (edited by Pedro C 2015-08-26 05:04:10)

Topic: Thinking of new bow, maybe

I wasn't sure if I should get a Hwarang, MJ System Black Shadow Matte, 53" or Nomad KTB 53", or if I should get 30lb, 40lb, or 50lb at 31". I am between 185cm and 190cm tall. My arm span is 178cm/70" thumb to thumb with arms spread out.

Most of my practice has been with a 50lb@30" Hungarian style bow. After a few rounds, I become more tired and start missing the target at 20 yards. At least the string never slaps my arm.

My 30#@28" flatbow just has too much handshock. Its brace height is lower and the string jerks forward from the brace height when it is shot, slapping my arm. I still have a strange bruise/nodule on my bow hand, at the little finger joint, from the handshock a week ago.

Although I can pull up to 70lbs max (get tired quickly), I should probably get the Nomad at 30lb. Right? Because I am a beginner and I do not feel as comfortable shooting as I would like to. Perhaps, when I actually make some progress in two or three years, I could get a more powerful Hwarang (maybe 60# or more).

However, an archer at the range told me I should just shoot more with my 50# bow because that's what I'm used to. I guess he might be right, but I don't see how shooting a lighter bow hurts rather than helps get better form.

Instead of buying a bow, should just try to make really heavy arrows for the flatbow? I don't think its draw will be as even, but it should be good enough? I could wrap something soft on the handle. Would it be too different to shoot from a Korean bow? (both with thumb draw, heavy arrows). I could make longer arrows, but I'm not sure if that 71" hickory flatbow should be drawn more than 32". It already has taken some set. I can draw to right under my ear at around 32", but I might want to learn to shoot with a longer, lower draw.